Under current policy, the Government advises against all non-essential international travel. All passengers arriving in Ireland must complete a COVID-19 Passenger Locator Form and provide evidence that they have a negative or ‘not detected’ result from a COVID-19 PCR test carried out no more than 72 hours before arrival into Ireland or have evidence that they are exempt from this legal requirement.

People who are travelling from or via a state designated under the recently enacted public health legislation must also pre-book and pre-pay for a place in a designated facility for mandatory hotel quarantine.

All other travellers, who arrive in Ireland from non-designated states, are required to quarantine at home for 14 days; however, if they take a further PCR test on day 5 post arrival in Ireland and if this is reported as ‘not detected’ they can end their period of quarantine.

Minister Donnelly has today considered advice from the Acting CMO to add further states to the “designated States” list. This evening the Minister is adding a further number of states following consultation with the Minister for Foreign Affairs. The list of additional States is set out below. Travellers from these states will have to book accommodation for mandatory hotel quarantine if they intend to arrive in Ireland after 4 am on Tuesday, 6 April.

Advice from the Acting CMO also includes advice with regard to a number of other states. Decisions in relation to these additional states will be considered in advance of the next Government meeting. Ongoing considerations will also address various issues including the operational capacity that may be required to accommodate additional travellers and issues related to the Common Travel Area and the need to consult with our EU partners. Further consideration will also be given to ways in which measures pertaining to those travelling from non-designated states might be further strengthened.

The Ministers underlined the Government’s commitment to protect public health as a matter of urgency, including in relation to variants of concern, and having regard to our international obligations.

List of Additional States:

States to be added:

  1. The Republic of Albania
  2. The Principality of Andorra
  3. Aruba
  4. The Kingdom of Bahrain
  5. Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  6. The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  7. The State of Israel
  8. The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  9. The Republic of Kosovo
  10. The State of Kuwait
  11. The Republic of Lebanon
  12. The Republic of San Marino
  13. The Republic of Moldova
  14. The Principality of Monaco
  15. Montenegro
  16. The Federal Republic of Nigeria
  17. The Republic of North Macedonia
  18. The Sultanate of Oman
  19. The State of Palestine
  20. The Republic of the Philippines
  21. The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
  22. The State of Qatar
  23. Saint Lucia
  24. The Republic of Serbia
  25. The Federal Republic of Somalia
  26. The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands

States to be removed

1.  the Republic of Mauritius

A full list of designated States is available here.

Help support Cork Safety Alerts by becoming a member – Click Here