Download our Mobile Apps! iOS  – Click Here | Android – Click Here

Ireland’s young water champions were celebrated today at the annual Green School Water Awards hosted by An Taisce Green-Schools and Uisce Éireann.

Kinsale Community College in Cork was named the Secondary Water School of the Year, while Scoil Fhionain/Kifinane in Limerick, were the winners in the Primary category.

Over the past school year, over 12,000 students in 432 schools all over Ireland have participated in the Green-Schools water theme which is sponsored by Uisce Éireann.

The water theme looks at developing awareness around water conservation and how to effectively manage this precious resource in our schools and at home.

Pictured: Sophie, Zoe, Ruby and Lilian from Kinsale Community School, Cork, receiving their Green-Schools Water School of the Year (Secondary) Award from Justin Brennan of Uisce Éireann. Image: 1IMAGE/Bryan Brophy

Both schools demonstrated exceptional commitment to the water theme and to raising awareness of the value of water in their school and the broader community. Kinsale Community College really embraced water conservation. They took part in a weeklong action week which include a video competition with 14 other schools, a Mini Cop event, attended the Hollies centre for sustainability, and invited people from the local community to speak to classes as well as doing walks for water and an Eco Fair showcasing sustainability projects completed in the school over the years.

The pupils in Scoil Fhionain/Kifinane, Limerick reached out to their local newspaper which covered their water action day including a water relay race, while everyone was encouraged to become more aware of how they use water by introducing Water Wardens in each class to check for leaks and running taps. Students were also encouraged to use refillable water bottles.

The two schools were chosen from a list of eight regional winners, who were recognised for their exceptional commitment to delivering water conservation measures, awareness raising and sustainability actions.

Speaking at the awards, Geoffrey Bourke of Uisce Éireann congratulated all the winners for their efforts to highlight the value of water:

“It is truly inspiring to see how the schools taking part in the Green-Schools water theme are setting an example for how we should all value our precious water resources and have proved just how much water can be saved. Congratulations to all the winners and everyone who has taken part in this excellent program.”

Green-Schools Manager, Joanne Scott said:

“Once again this year we have seen some inspirational ideas from the participating students. They have shown great leadership, not just in their schools but also in their wider communities. Our Schools of the Year winners have showed a genuine willingness to reach out beyond the schools themselves to engage with a wider audience. 

“Well done to all the schools who took part in the programme this year for their outstanding efforts.”

Among the awards announced at the event were the regional and national Water Schools of the Year and the Green-Schools poster and video competition winners. The country’s top Water Ambassadors were also honoured at the special ceremony which took place in Dublin.

This is the tenth year of the Green-Schools partnership with Uisce Éireann, and in that time over 630,000 students have taken part, attending interactive water workshops or Walk for Water events, hosting talks from Uisce Éireann staff or visiting their local water and wastewater treatment plants.

Winning schools and students: 

Water Schools of the Year:

Primary Overall Winner

  • Scoil Fhionain/Kifinane NS – Limerick


Secondary Overall Winner

  • Kinsale Community School – Cork


Regional Winners


  • Dublin, regional winner, primary – St. Brigid’s Church of Ireland NS- DLRD
  • Eastern and Midlands, regional winner, primary – Gaelscoil na Boinne – Meath
  • Southern, regional winner, primary – Scoil Fhionain/Kifinane NS – Limerick
  • Northern and Western, regional winner, primary – Doonaha, NS – Clare



  • Dublin, regional winner, secondary – Rockford Manor – DLRD
  • Northern and Western, regional winner, secondary – St. Patricks Colleges – Cavan
  • Eastern and Midlands, regional winner, Secondary – Edenderry Youthreach – Offaly


Water Ambassador Programme Awards: 

Regional Water Ambassador Winners

  • Southern Region:
  • Chloe Lehane, Emily Mehigan, Daimhín McKenna, Rachel Twomey and Ellen Murray from St. Mary’s Secondary School, Macroom


  • Northern and Western Region:
  • Jessica Tedders, Iona Collet, Daire Hanrahan and Katie Gallagher from Presentation College Headford


  • Eastern and Midlands Region:
  • Jack Reams and Andy Li Zheng from Clongowes Wood College SJ


  • Dublin Region:
  • Zoe Nicole Dunne, Fiona Villar, Rebecca Fodor and Laya Lockhart-Kane from St Mary’s Holy Faith Glasnevin

Runner-Up Water Ambassadors 

  • Southern Region:
  • Rosemary Kay Morley from Regina Mundi College


  • Northern and Western Region:
  • Abbie Lynch, Jane Ruxton, Niamh Murnaghan and Mika Hamilton from St. Louis Secondary School Carrickmacross


  • Eastern and Midlands Region:
  • Kevin McKeon and Finn Craig from St Mary’s Knockbeg College


  • Dublin Region:
  • Áine Clair, Katie Quinn, Maebh Cotter and Róisín Stuart from Dominican College Griffith Avenue


Water Awards – Poster Winners 



Dublin Region

  • Harriet Lynch (2nd Class), Scoil Mhuire GNS, Sandymount, Dublin 4

Eastern and Midlands

  • Julia Kirwan (Senior Infants), Scoil Fionntáin Naofa, Shanahoe, Abbeyleix, Co. Laois


  • Seán O’Sullivan (2nd Class), Nagle Rice Primary School, Milltown, Co. Kerry

Western and Northern

  • Cian Loughnane (Junior Infants), Newtown National School, Newtown, Ballinasloe Co Roscommon


Dublin Region:

  • Keerthana Kaarthik (6a), St. Mary’s N.S., Saggart, Co.Dublin

Eastern & Midlands Region:

  • Robyn Kelly (6th Class), Scoil Bhríde Cannistown, Cannistown, Co. Meath

Southern Region:

  • Conor Maher (5th class), Dromakeenan National School, Roscrea, Co. Tipperary

Northern and Western Region:

  • Elysia O’Leary (6th Class), Ballyfeeney National School, Scramogue, Co. Roscommon




Dublin Region:

  • Shu Han Lin (1st year), Mount Anville Secondary School, Dublin 14

Eastern & Midlands Region:

  • Andy Zheng (2nd year), Clongowes Wood College, Clane, Co Kildare

Southern Region:

  • Chloe Lehane (2nd year), St Mary’s Secondary School, Macroom, Cork.

Northern and Western Region:

  • Rory Fitzgerald (1st year), CBS Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Co. Clare


Green-Schools Water Video Competition Winners 2023


National Winner

Mercy Secondary School Ballymahon, Co Longford

  • Maeve Farrell

The video can be viewed at:


Runner Ups 

Gort Community School, Co. Galway

  • Diarmuid O Fathaigh, Erin O’ Sullivan, Vanessa Rosa, Adam Diskin, Alan Cai, Conor Flynn

The video can be viewed at:


St. Mary’s Secondary School, Macroom, Co. Cork

  • Nora Twomey, Chloe Lehane, Daimhin McKenna, Emily Mehigan, Aoibheann Foley, Ellen Murray, Hannah Griffin, Ellen O’ Donoghue, Aoife Doyle, Liadan O’ Riardan, Rachel Twomey

The video can be viewed at: