The Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly TD has added an additional 13 states to the list of ‘high-risk’ countries. Passengers arriving from these designated states must complete a mandatory 14-day period of self-quarantine.

Minister Donnelly said:

The Government continues to advise against all non-essential international travel at this time and a range of measures is in place to reinforce this policy. If you travel to Ireland from any of the high-risk countries, you must complete a full 14-day quarantine period.

This applies to all passengers from designated states, regardless of nationality and the aim of this measure is to protect the population from challenges posed by new variants of concern.

I brought legislation to the Dáil this week to bring in mandatory quarantine in a designated facility. Once the Bill has passed through all stages in the Oireachtas, it will be referred to the President for his consideration. Subject to the Bill becoming law, it is the Government’s intention to commence the operation of mandatory quarantine facilities as soon as possible.

A National Oversight Group for Variants of Concern (VOCS) has been established to monitor and advise upon the challenges posed by VOCs.

The Group provides advice to the Chief Medical Officer, who in turn advises the Minister for Health on countries to be specified as category 2 under the current Regulations (S.I. No. 44 of 2021).

The list of category 2 countries is subject to review on an ongoing basis.

Additional states added to category 2 are:

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.

More information is available on


The states currently designated as category 2 are:

Angola, Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Republic of South Africa, Rwanda, Seychelles, Suriname, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Help support Cork Safety Alerts by becoming a member – Click Here